Personal tools

 
Home Research Research Guide How to find library material

How to find library material

Tips on searching for books, journals, articles, and e-resources

SLAVIC AND EAST EUROPEAN STUDIES:

BASIC RESEARCH STRATEGIES

 

HOW TO FIND

There are over 700,000 volumes in the area of Slavic and East European studies in the University of Toronto Libraries. For the most part the collection is located in Robarts Library and the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library.

1. Find a book

2. Find a journal

3. Search for an article

4. E-Resources


1. Find a book

You can perform your search by title, keyword, author, topic/subject, and call number

 

a) by Title (browse)

• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• From the drop down menu select Title
• Type your title
• Click on Search

For example:
You are looking for Kobzar by Taras Shevchenko. On the main page, from the drop down menu select Title and type kobzar. You will retrieve 85 editions of the work.


b) by Title (keyword)

You can use Keyword search when you do not know the exact title of a book.

• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• By default it will search anywhere
• Type your title
• Click on Search

For example:
You are looking for books on Serbian culture. Type in serbian culture and you will find a number of books which have the words in their title, either in English or in Serbian.


c) by Topic/Subject

• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• From the dropdown menu select Subject
• Type your Subject
• Click on Search

For example:
You are interested in Macedonian history. From the dropdown menu select Subject and type macedonian history. You will retrieve nearly 681 items containing those words in the catalogue records, 18 of which are online.


Tips: When you perform a keyword search and find a relevant book on your topic, click on the title and then click on Details. Click on any of the Subjects to find more books on the same or similar topics. For searches with an unwieldy number of results, this should narrow down the results to a more manageable number.

OR

After a keyword search, choose the relevant subject heading from the left panel, and then remove your original keywords, to find all records matching your subject.

You may also browse Library of Congress Authorities for authorized subject heading, names and titles.

 http://authorities.loc.gov/cgi-bin/Pwebrecon.cgi?DB=local&PAGE=First


d) by Author

• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• From the drop down menu select Author Type the last name and then first name Click on Search


For example:
You are looking for books written by Milan Kundera. On the main page of the catalogue, from the dropdown menu, select Author and type kundera, milan. Find over 114 books written by him.


e) by Call Number

Browsing collections by call number allows you to locate library material on your topic in the collections of a particular library (this can be compared with the actual browsing of books on shelves). Here you can find a stack guide in Robarts library
http://content.library.utoronto.ca/robarts/access-information/stack-guide

Books on the region on the 9th and 10th floors are classed  DJK and DK (history). The PG class (literature) is on the 12th floor.

Classification of Slavic materials in Robarts library could be found here
http://link.library.utoronto.ca/MyUTL/guides/folder.cfm?guide=pjrc2&folderID=235304  


• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• From the dropdown menu select Call number
• Type a call number
• Click on Search

Note: The system should automatically make needed corrections. For example it will correct hc340.3s672008 to hc340. 3 s67 2008 and finds the book with this call number.

Note: you can check WorldCat, which is the world's largest network of library content and services. It has 125 million items and it constantly grows thanks to the efforts of librarian and other information professionals. The WorldCat helps you locate an item of interest and then find it in a nearby library. Resources are available in many languages. In order to find the WorldCat:


• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Hold cursor on Research
• Click on Other Library Catalogues
• Click on WorldCat

Note: a large body of collection in Central and East European Studies is in a new facility at the University of Toronto Library at Downsview. This collection is fully accessible via a courier service. Please find more information on Downsview here:
http://content.library.utoronto.ca/downsview

2. Find a journal

Journals are available in print and in full text electronic format. Use the catalogue for both print and electronic. Please note that most journals in Slavic and East European studies are in print.

For Print Journals:

 • Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
 • From the dropdown menu choose Title
 • Enter a title of your journal
 • Click on Search

For example:
You are looking for the Ukrainian journal Krytyka. Choose Title from the dropdown menu and type krytyka. You will find a list of journals that begin with the word krytyka in their title. Choose the needed one.

 For Electronic Journals:

• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Click on E-Journals
• Type the title of your journal
• Click on Search

For example:

You are looking for an electronic version of Canadian Slavonic Papers. On the main page click on E-Journals and type canadian slavonic papers in the box. Click on Search and find that the journal is available electronically to UTL users.

You can also choose the needed journal from the list of electronic journals.


3. Search for an article

Indexes point to articles in journals

If you would like to find articles on your topic:

• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Click on Search for Articles
• You can chose the best database in your field by selecting it in the dropdown menu in the first box

OR

You can search in Quick search for articles by entering keywords in the box.  You will search in the Scholars Portal which consists of more that 100 article databases in different disciplines.

   For example:

You are looking for articles on Federalism in Russia. On the main page of the catalogue, click on Search for Articles. Type in federalism russia in Quick search for articles and click on Go. Retrieve 1119 journal articles on the topic in all publication types.

 

You can also use the Article Finder located on the same page. Type the Journal title and year (and other bibliographic information if available).  Click on Go.

 

For example:
You are looking for the article by Anna Grzymala-Busse, Political Competition and the Politicization of the State in East Central Europe, published in Comparative Political Studies, 36:10 (December 2003), 1123-47. Since you know the title of the journal and the year, on the main page of the catalogue, choose Article Finder and type comparative political studies, 2003, and political competition and the politicization of the state in east central europe in the appropriate boxes. Find the link to the full-text article (if available) or information about where to find a print version of the journal.

Note: Historical Abstracts and JSTOR are highly recommended database for research in history; the MLA International Bibliography is highly recommended for research in literature and language.

 

4. E-Resources

University of Toronto Libraries subscribes to more than 900 databases in different disciplines. You can also search for online books, newspapers, journals, encyclopedias and other resources.

• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Click on E-Resources button
• Enter a title of an electronic resource

For example:
You are looking for JSTOR. Go to the main page, click on E-Resources and enter jstor. Click on Go.

If you don’t know what databases available in your field, try Articles and Research Databases or Article Finder. Also, a list of most popular databases is provided.

• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Click on E-Resources button
• Click on any of the abovementioned buttons.

 

Document Actions