Doing research
How to find resources in a particular field, locate theses and dissertations, search material in Cyrillic, etc.
1. The fastest way to find an item in the University of Toronto Libraries catalogue is if you know the title
2. How to find resources in a particular field
3. Browse encyclopedias, directories, and dictionaries
4. Find theses and dissertations
5. Transliteration
6. Citing Sources
7. How to create a bibliography using software (RefWorks)
1. The fastest way to find an item in the University of Toronto Libraries catalogue is if you know the title
• Type the title of the book into the Catalogue search box
• Choose Title
• Enter a title
• Click on Search
For example:
You are looking for Doktor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak. From the main page, type doctor zhivago into the Catalogue search box, choose title, and click on Search.
2. How to find resources in a particular field
• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Hold cursor on Research and find Research Help
• Click on Research Guides by Topic and find many research guides in different disciplines
• Click on the needed one
For example:
You are looking for resources in Slavic and East European Studies. Hold cursor on Research and find Research Help and find Research Help. Then click on Research Guides by Topic and click on “S”. You will find five resource guides available in the field namely Countries and Regions, Eastern Christianity, History of East Central Europe, Slavic and East European Collections, and Slavic and East European Resources.
3. Browse encyclopedias, directories, and dictionaries
Browsing encyclopedias and directories can be extremely helpful when you are
starting your research. This can provide you not only with a general
understanding of your topic, but also provide you with keywords and names,
which you can then use while searching the catalogue. In addition, many
encyclopedic entries have bibliographies which can often direct you to useful
sources.
Many encyclopedias, directories, and dictionaries in the Slavic and East
European field can be found at the Petro Jacyk Resource Centre, located on the
3rd floor in the Robarts Library.
You can use the library catalogue to find encyclopedias and other reference
books on your topic.
• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Type your search term followed by and encyclopedia or directory or dictionary
• Click on Search
For example:
You are looking for an encyclopedia on Ukraine.
Type ukraine
and encyclopedia, click on Search, and retrieve over 61 items on the topic
including one item available online.
Please note that the system search for singular and plural form of the words so if you enter encyclopedias or encyclopedia you will receive the same results.
If you are looking for encyclopedias or dictionaries available ON-LINE.
• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Click on E-Resources
• Enter your search term
• Click on Search
For example:
You are looking for Encyclopedia of Diasporas. Click on E-resources and enter
encyclopedia of diasporas. Then click on Search.
Note: Note: many encyclopedias and directories are not available ON-LINE from the catalogue.
4. Find theses and dissertations
If you are looking for theses or dissertations from American, Canadian or selected international graduate schools:
• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Click on E-Resources
• Type ProQuest Digital
• Click on Search
This is a highly recommended database is ProQuest
Dissertations and Theses-Full Text
http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTNiMGYmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=12520
If you are looking for a dissertation written by a graduate student of the University
of Toronto:
• Go to the main page of UTL Catalogue
• Type in the author of a dissertation
• Click on Search
For
example:
You are looking for dissertation by Halyna Hryn. On the main page choose Author
from the drop down menu and type hryn, halyna. Click on Go and
find her dissertation Literaturnyi iarmarok: Ukrainian modernism's defining
moment in all available formats (in print, on-line, and in microfilm).
Note: For U of T students, staff and faculty, theses/dissertations can also be obtained through our Interlibrary Loan Service.
5. Transliteration
Transliteration is a rendering from one system of writing to another. When
doing research in Slavic and East European studies, transliteration is very
important because it allows a user to use an English computer keyboard to
search for resources in languages that use Cyrillic alphabets. Transliteration
from some Slavic languages to English therefore means that Cyrillic characters
are represented by Roman characters. The Library of Congress
romanization schemes have been adopted as a standard for transliteration from
Russian, Ukrainian, Belarusian, Bulgarian, Serbian and Macedonian languages, as
well as Church Slavic and non-Slavic languages that may use the Cyrillic
script, such as Azerbaijani, Tajik, Tatar, etc.. The system works on a
letter-to-letter basis, which means that each letter has a corresponding letter
or letters in English or Roman characters.
When searching for publications in Cyrillic in the library catalogue use only
these characters.
The ALA-LC Romanization Tables for Slavic
languages are provided by the Library of Congress can be found at:
Belarusian http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/romanization/beloruss.pdf
Bulgarian http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/romanization/bulgaria.pdf
Russianhttp://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/romanization/russian.pdf
Serbian and Macedonian http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/romanization/serbian.pdf
Ukrainian http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/romanization/ukrainia.pdf
For
example:
Russian: Александр
Пушкин is transliterated as Aleksandr
Pushkin.
Ukrainian: Марко
Кропивницький
is transliterated as Marko Kropyvnyts’kyi.
Serbian: Никола
Тесла becomes Nikola Tesla.
6. Citing Sources
In an academic paper you to have to demonstrate your own way of thinking while
showing your familiarity with your field of study. It is your responsibility to
document every source you are using in your paper. All borrowing from books,
articles, and Web sites must be cited. Even if you simply paraphrase or
summarize an author’s ideas you must cite your sources in order to avoid
plagiarism
From the Code of Behaviour on Academic Matters:
It shall be an offence for a student knowingly:
(d) to represent as one's own any idea or expression of an idea or work of
another in any academic examination or term test or in connection with any
other form of academic work, i.e. to commit plagiarism.
More information on proper Citations could be found here:
http://www.utoronto.ca/writing/document.html
Humanities
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 6th ed. (2003)
The Chicago Manual
of Style 15th ed. (2003)
Social Sciences
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association 5th ed. (2001)
7. How to create a bibliography using
software (RefWorks)
RefWorks is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows you to
create your own personal database by importing references such as citations to
journal articles or books, from text files or online databases. You can use
these references in writing papers and automatically format the paper and the
bibliography in seconds. The Library Catalogue and the Library's Article
databases provide links to allow citations to be easily added to RefWorks.
RefWorks is freely available to the all University
of Toronto students, staff, and
faculty.
After completing a search, click on "Details" to add any item in the
Library Catalogue to your personal my. library.
More information on how to use RefWorks can be found here:
http://www.library.utoronto.ca/gerstein/subjectguides/refworks.html


